Something’s Gotta Change

Fortunately, it always does
But not without a lot of dead time first
All I can do is pray but for what?
Roll back the clock 60 years and don’t be stupid
Not this time around, not like all the other times
Even tried visiting the beach on a hot spring day
No peace to be found, radio next to me thumping
N*gger this n*gger that fuck this fuck that

I’m ready to leave this world
But this world is not ready for me to leave
No matter how hard I close my eyes and pray
When I open my eyes I’m still here
Filling out the forms for senior assisted living
Checking the want ads for a part time job
Looking for an apartment again, again and again
Thinking on living alone without the hatred

Stick the laundry in the washer, flip it on
Maybe do some yoga to try to change my mood
God, please take me away, away
Away from this awful isolation and dry death
Why must I continue to be old and decaying?
Where is death to relieve me of this burden?
Something has to change, God
You are, as usual, taking your time

Author: howlinsteve

Multimedia Artist, Musician

Leave a comment